top of page


Dance of Five Elements

Welcome to a contemporary rendition of the universal theme of the five elements; explored through the prism of Yoga and four Indian classical dance forms - Kathak, Bharatnatyam, Odissi and Mohiniattam.

In Indian classical dance and yoga, the training follows a conscious process. It is a step by step inner journey into ever subtler realms that enthralls, elevates and ultimately liberates the dancer, the yogi and the audience.

From the five elements are formed five levels at which we experience Being: Physical, Emotional, Mental, Psychic and Spiritual. These are powered by seven main chakras or centers of consciousness located along the spine, starting from the base to the crown of the head.

Man is an incomplete evolution, with these elements still dormant within him. To realise their full potential, the divine spark present deep within his heart has to awaken and transform each element - his space (Spirit), Air (Psyche), Fire (Thoughts), Water (Emotions) and Earth (Body). Only then will the human transform into his true divine nature, his awaiting destiny !


Priyadarshini Ghosh Shome - representing Mohiniattam

Ranjini Menon - representing Bharatnatyam

Raka Maitra - representing Odissi

Neesha Jhaveri - representing Kathak

Nilima Bhat

Sri Swami Vidyanand

R P Jairam

bottom of page